City Council

Candidate Eligibility Requirements

Eligibility for City Council candidacy during an election is governed by Title 9, Sec 141.001 of the State of Texas Election Code and by Section 3.03 of the City of Watauga Home Rule Charter.  In any case in which the requirements are more restrictive in the City's Home Rule Charter as opposed to the State Election Code, the requirements in the City of Watauga Home Rule Charter prevail.


Watauga City Council Regular Meetings are approved a year in advance by City Council and are generally scheduled on the second and fourth Monday of each month.  When approving the Regular Meeting schedule, City Council takes into consideration various factors such as holidays and Charter provisions.  Special City Council Meetings are called as needed and notice of all meetings can be found on the required bulletin boards at City Hall.  Regular City Council Meetings and Special City Council Meetings are held at City Hall in the City Council Chamber located at 7105 Whitley Road, Watauga, Texas 76148.  All agendas are also posted on-line in compliance with the Texas Open Meetings Act and are available for you to view at your convenience. City Council approved the most recent version of their Council Rules of Procedure Manual on October 12, 2020.

Form of Government

Watauga is led by a Mayor/Council/City Manager form of government, with the Mayor and all seven (7) City Council seats elected at-large for a two year term. Direct citizen input to City government takes the form of several volunteer boards, commissions and committees, which advise the City Council on a variety of issues such as crime prevention, parks, recreation and community services, etc.

Minutes Online Video
View All View All View All
 Archived Agendas Archived Minutes  
 View All View All   

Scheduled Regular Meeting Dates    

January 11, 2021 & January 25, 2021
July 13, 2021 & July 27, 2021
February 8, 2021 & February 22, 2021
August 9, 2021 & August 23, 2021
March 8, 2021 & March 22, 2021 September 13, 2021 & September 27, 2021
April 12, 2021 & April 26, 2021 October 11, 2021 & October 25, 2021
May 24, 2021 November 8, 2021 & November 22, 2021
June 14, 2021 & June 28, 2021 December 13, 2021 & December 27, 2021

ArtMiner Patrick Shelbourne
TomSnyder LovieDowney
Arthur L. Miner
Pat Shelbourne
Council Member Place 1
 Tom Snyder
Council Member Place 2

 Lovie Downey
Council Member Place 3
 AndrewNeal    MarkTaylor  Jan Hill
 Andrew Neal
Mayor Pro Tem
Council Member Place 4

Council Member Place 5
 Mark Taylor
Council Member Place 6
Jan Hill
Council Member Place 7