News Flash


Posted on: October 25, 2019

Watauga Fire Department Awarded 2019 Achievement of Excellence - Silver Award

October 24, 2019 - At the Annual Texas Fire Marshals Association Conference and Awards Banquet the Watauga Fire Department was awarded the 2019 Achievement of Excellence Silver Level Award. TXFMA President John Paul Erskine Stated: "I am very excited and proud to present this Silver Level Award to the Watauga Fire Department whose hard work in fire prevention activities has earned such a prestigious award through their dedication and professionalism which is the cornerstone of this award, association and its members".

The Achievement of Excellence in Fire Prevention Award ("AEFP Award") is an annual award to recognize organizations for performance excellence in fire prevention. Established in 2008, the AEFP Award is administered by the Texas Fire Marshal's Association (TXFMA"), the official State Chapter of the International Fire Marshal's Association.

To successfully receive the "Achievement of Excellence in Fire Prevention" award, the applicant must obtain a total of at least 125 points for Bronze Level/ 150 points for Silver/ 175 points for Gold out of a possible 200 points.

Scoring Categories

  • Authority, organization, and ethics 25 possible points
  • Fire and Life safety programs 50 possible points
  • Performance metrics and CQI program 25 possible points
  • Web-based communications and automation 25 possible points
  • Certification, education, and development 25 possible points
  • Professional organizations 25 possible points
  • Fire prevention legislation or ordinances 15 possible points
  • Task force and other cooperative programs 10 possible points

Total possible points 200 possible points

Facebook Twitter Email